I saved their life and they didn’t even thank me

I’m on a family road trip from Dallas TX to Central California in a pathfinder. This is (some of) my story:

We pulled over in the middle of nowhere Arizona to sleep at 2 something am. I wake up to the sound of my mom saying “no, pull off the road farther”. We come to a stop and the windows get rolled down and the back window on the back door of the SUV is popped so I can have some cool desert air. Being a little paranoid, I only crack the window enough for a breeze. I don’t want the window all the way open..I can’t make it that easy for someone to take me. I sit up and all I see is grass and bushes and desert surrounding the car. I’m NOT ok with that. All I can think about is that tiny people or children are sneaking up and are going to snatch us up. They’re crouching low behind the brush waiting until the unsuspecting family from Texas is asleep. Well, THIS Texan wasn’t falling asleep. No way. I’m laying in the back of the car, body still, eyes wide open, brain active when a gust of wind hits the back window behind my head. OK! I’m up! I wake up my parents and say I can’t stay here, if you need to sleep that’s fine I’ll drive, but if we stay here I will get no sleep. None. Let me drive. Of course they’re like why?? So I reply, I have a very real fear of being murdered out here. Ever seen The hills have eyes? I have, and I’m not going out like that. Not now, not never.

So, because of me we got to California sooner and were able to spend a day at the beach AND I saved my (ungrateful) family from being murdered by the desert people in Arizona. Go me.

Posted on June 28, 2011, in family road trip fun, just life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Christina Briles

    Omg, that is hilarious. I’m reading your blogs, and we are like the same person…my imagination is wild too, and if I ever have a really bad nightmare – paranoia for the rest of the day.

    • Haha I am seriously paranoid. This morning the light in the fish tank was flashing. I thought it was like morse code from the outside burglar telling the inside burglar to get out. I seriously creeped around the corner to see what was happening.

  1. Pingback: I was caught off guard without an escape plan. Luckily, I wasn’t really in danger. « saraellenawesome

  2. Pingback: I thought it was possessed, but turns out it’s just a clean freak « saraellenawesome

Leave a Reply

